Review: Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin

15803173
Oh my goodness. This book. The feels.

Abigail Tarttelin’s Golden Boy tells the story of Max, an intersex teen whose entire life and sense of self are completely upended after he is brutally raped by a childhood friend. When I say brutal, I mean it–the entire book provides a graphic and unflinching look at the depression and terror that comes with surviving a traumatic experience, and with suddenly not knowing who you are.

I loved this book because it actually made me feel…everything. (All the best books do.) My heart broke over and over again for Max. His family members were infuriatingly real, in a good way. They were loving and terrible and lost and just trying to do the best they could, which was often not enough. And Max was real, too. I can’t speak for what it is like to be intersex, but in my limited opinion I felt that Max was written with compassion and sensitivity. (If anyone feels otherwise, I would be more than happy to hear your opinion.)

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel–as much as you can enjoy having your heart torn to shreds. It was a very raw and moving story of searching for one’s identity and healing after trauma.

Leave a Reply

