Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

iehowmI am arguably the world’s biggest fan of the U.S. version of The Office. I have every season on DVD and have watched it almost every single day for years now. There is always a disc in my DVD player. I’ve seen each season probably–and I’m not kidding–thirty times. I love it. I think it’s hilarious, but it’s more than that. By this point, it’s become what I’ve dubbed my “comfort show.” No matter how I’m feeling, its familiarity comforts me.

So, obviously I had to read Mindy Kaling’s memoir Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? And Other Concerns because she is one of the original writers of The Office.

Of course I loved it. It’s pretty much just a bit of fluff writing, which Mindy says so herself in the beginning of the book. (But at the same time it manages to be much more insightful and witty than Lena Dunham’s memoir. See my previous review. I won’t get started here.)

Mindy actually talks about her career in this memoir (unlike Lena! Ahh I can’t stop!)–how she came to love comedy as a child, how she moved to New York and wrote a two-woman show with her college friend, which hit it big and led to her employment with The Office. But her memoir is also about college, and her childhood, and her babysitting job, and how to be a best friend, and how to look good if you’re a guy. It’s just a funny read that I’d recommend to anyone.

Now how do I get Mindy to be my best friend?

4 thoughts on “Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

  1. I’ve got this one on my shelf and I’ve been itching to read it. My husband and I just finished the last episode of The Office on Netflix which only makes the timing better.

  2. I listened to this one as an audiobook a few months ago and really enjoyed it too. I’m not a fan of the office, but I’ve always thought Mindy was funny. It was a pretty enjoyable book. I’m sad to hear about Dunham’s book, which I’m waiting to come in at the library.

    1. Ooh, I would’ve liked to have listened to it as an audiobook, I just feel like I never have the time or means to do so easily. As for Dunham’s book, you never know, it might just be your cup of tea!

Leave a Reply

