Top Ten Books on My Summer TBR List

toptentuesday

It’s time for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish! Today’s topic: the top ten books on our summer TBR lists.

mag

1. The Magicians by Lev Grossman

wasted

2. Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia by Marya Hornbacher

topten1

3. Drinking: A Love Story by Caroline Knapp

topten2

4. Hidden Lives: A Family Memoir by Margaret Forster

topten3

5. Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill

topten4

6. My Salinger Year by Joanna Rakoff

topten5

7. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

topten7

8. The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer

topten6

9. Hiroshima by John Hersey

topten8

10. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf


What’s on the top of your TBR list this summer?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Books on My Summer TBR List

  1. Hidden Lives is one of my favourite memoirs of all time. I love Margaret Forster’s books. Have you read Shadow Baby? If not I suggest you read it after Hidden Lives as there is a clear parallel between fact and fiction.

      1. I read Shadow Baby first and then Hidden Lives but I think I would suggest reading them the other way around. The memoir is a great look at family relationships as well as the mystery surrounding the Grandmother.

  2. Heart Shaped Box is great fun, I enjoyed it a lot despite not reading a lot of horror. I would be really interested in reading Wasted as those were issues for me when I was younger. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

    1. Cathy, have you read NOS4A2 by the same author? It was another excellent horror read. (I’m a big horror fan.)

      I’ve been waiting years to read Wasted, because I’ve heard it can be triggering, and I have eating issues in my past as well. Finally feeling ready to read it!

      1. It’s a tough one, isn’t it? My eating issues are a long time in the past, but often feel like they are bubbling under the surface at the same time.

  3. A friend lent me Heart-Shaped Box a couple of years ago and I loved it. I don’t normally read horror so it was something very different for me. I’ve also read Wasted which I found very interesting. Eleanor & Park is currently on my TBR shelf, I’m looking forward to reading it.

  4. I’m in Winter, but I’ve got soo many on my list. I love that you included Virginia Woolf – I’m yet to read it. Will look out for your reviews πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

