Bookish Questions

So I saw this list of bookish questions on the totally awesome book blog booknerderie, and I just couldn’t resist answering them for myself!

What are your top three book pet peeves?

1. Books that switch between various characters’ points of view. Right when I’m really getting into one character’s story, it’s interrupted for another character’s! And then it happens over and over and over…

2. When there are more than three grammar/spelling errors in a book. Is this unreasonable? I don’t think it’s too unreasonable to ask that most of the periods and words be in the right place.

3. When it takes literally hundreds of pages for the real action to begin. I’m looking at you, Game of Thrones…

Describe your perfect reading spot.

On a quilt under a shady tree in 75 degree whether, preferably with flowers or a body of water nearby.

Tell us three book confessions.

1. I just can’t get into A Game of Thrones!

2. I hate literature from the Beat Generation.

3. I skipped over the chapters of historical background in The Grapes of Wrath.

When was the last time you cried during a book?

I don’t cry often during books, but I cried while reading The Fault In Our Stars just a couple of months ago.

How many books are on your bedside table?

*runs to bedroom* Three: The Giver by Lois Lowry, which I’m reading to my girlfriend (I’ve read it a million times, but she’s never read it!); Let’s Take the Long Way Home by Gail Caldwell, which is next on my reading list; and The Yoga Bible by Christina Brown. Plus a stack of filled-up journals.

What is your favorite snack to eat while you’re reading?

Does beer count? Or tea? Beer. Or tea.

Name three books you would recommend to everyone.

1. The Harry Potter series. Because duh.

2. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. I just thought it was so beautiful and profound.

3. The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom. This book has stuck with me for years and years. It’s a very moving Holocaust story.

Write how much books mean to you in just three words.

They’re the sun.

What’s your biggest reading secret?

I think romance in literature is much, much sexier than in the movies.


Now I shall tag people! Whether or not I tag you, if you feel like it, answer these questions on your blog or in the comments!

Gina at Stepping Into the Beyond
Helen at My Novel Opinion
Becky at Blogs of a Bookaholic
Quimichipilli at Q-Lit
Musings From a Bookmammal

One thought on “Bookish Questions

Leave a Reply

