10 Fictional Women I Want to Celebrate Galentine’s Day With

In honor of Galentine’s Day, I’ve been thinking about fictional characters with whom I’d love nothing more than to have a nice, intimate Galentine’s Day party. We could sit around, drink beer, reminisce about fighting the good fight against Voldemort/the Capitol/Miss Trunchbull … you know, the good old days.

On my invite list:

McgonagallProfessor Minerva McGonagall, from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. I admit I’ve had crushes on plenty of older, female professors in my day, and McGonagall is no exception. She is no-nonsense and knows how to keep control of her classes, but at the same time, everybody still likes and respects her. She’s clearly a top-of-the-line witch, she can turn into a cat!, and she wears a tartan nightdress. You cannot beat that. And I know she’s got some scandalous secrets about Dumbledore to share.

BLEAK HOUSE Generics

Esther Summerson, from Bleak House by Charles Dickens. Esther is the kindest, most warm-hearted and considerate person, but she also won’t take any crap from anyone, including unwanted advances from unsavory suitors. Sometimes she is a little too hard on herself…which makes me love her even more. Who wouldn’t want her at a Galentine’s party?

laura

Laura Brown, from The Hours by Michael Cunningham.  I know that Laura Brown does some terrible things, but I still think that she is an extremely courageous person who does the best that she can do. It may not be what’s “right,” but it’s the only way she knows how to survive. I know she could use a few drinks and some serious gal-time.

Anna-karenina

Anna Karenina, from Anna Karenina by Lev Tolstoy.  It’s no secret that I’m in love with Anna. This is one of my favorite books, and she is one of my all-time favorite characters. Now that I think about it, she reminds me a lot of Laura Brown—she makes mistakes, but she always follows her heart. Right to the very end. She’ll be there in spirit.

peeta and katniss

Peeta Mellark & Katniss Everdeen, from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  I had to invite these two together because I love them both equally. (Note: I’m not saying I think they should necessarily be together. I think Katniss should maybe not be worrying herself over boys, but that’s for another post.) I love Peeta because he is sensitive, kind-hearted and honorable. He will round out the Galentine’s party. I love Katniss because she is mentally, emotionally and physically strong. And I love that both of them are so very brave in their own ways.

elphaba-idinaElphaba, from Wicked by Gregory Maguire.  I love Elphaba because she’s wicked smart, she’s unique, she’s politically active and she’s misunderstood. Also, she’s tragic, and I can’t resist a little bit of that. And she’s totally in love with Glinda. Glinda’s not invited.

miss honey

 

Miss Honey, from Matilda by Roald Dahl.  Despite the abuse and tragedy she has suffered in her past, Miss Honey is kind, gentle, and lives the life she wants to live. She’s the most amazing teacher ever. She is obviously the designated driver.

kahlan

Kahlan Amnell, from The Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind. Kahlan is one of the most bad-ass women I know. She has this incredible magical power over people, but she is extremely careful in how she exercises that power. She never takes advantage of those who are less powerful than she is. I’d let her take advantage of me. She’s just so cool.

hermione

Hermione Granger, from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.  Everyone probably saw this one coming. I love Hermione so much I can hardly stand it. Yes, she is sometimes a know-it-all, but she never apologizes for knowing things (which, by the way, saves Harry’s ass more than once). And, even though her attempt to liberate the house elves was perhaps slightly misguided, I still love her for trying to stand up for them. She is the best, and without her Voldemort would’ve won, so.

Leave a Reply

