2013: My Reading Year in Review

2013 has been, for me, an excellent year of reading. This year my Goodreads Challenge was to read 40 books, and  I exceeded my goal by 2 (so far!).

This year I also began this blog, in an effort to better remember the books I’ve read. I like being able to go back through my archives–it helps me remember details. Furthermore, writing the reviews in the first place helps to cement the books in my mind, and it makes it easier for me to develop my opinions about them. Plus, I’ve discovered so many other great book blogs and bloggers!

And now, since I love lists and stats, here’s a breakdown of my reading in 2013.

Books read: 42

Where I Got Them:
Public library (21), my own bookshelves (11), borrowed from friends (6), purchased (4)

Genres Read: Horror, Memoir, Nonfiction, Fiction, Classics, YA, Children’s, LGBTQ, True Crime, Short Story, Biography

Longest: Dune by Frank Herbert

Favorite: Bastard Out of Carolina by Dorothy Allison

Least Favorite: Dune by Frank Herbert (It’s unfortunate that it was also the longest!)

Things I Learned About: Geisha culture, North Korea, Charles Manson, Tina Fey, Quakerism, the Congo, the hospitality business, introversion, women’s prisons, the Columbine High School shooting

2014 Reading Goals:
1. Read at least 40 books.
2. Read at least 2 books with 800+ pages
3. Read at least 10 of the books I already own.
4. Read at least 5 nonfiction books that are not memoirs.
5. Read at least 6 classics.

How has your year of reading been? What are your goals for 2014?

8 thoughts on “2013: My Reading Year in Review

  1. I’ve had a great year of reading, too, and like you started a blog to help me remember the books I’ve read. Your goals for next year sound great. Good luck with them. I’m looking forward to your reviews.

  2. Awesome year! This is my first year blogging, too, and it definitely makes a difference — I remember the books much better now that I’m writing about them. I hope you keep writing in 2014! Sounds like you’ve set some great goals for yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

