The Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

This post comes as a part of The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesdays. Check them out!

10. The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides. I was drawn to this book by the promise of an English-major protagonist named Madeleine (my name, my major!), but I was a little disappointed by both Madeleine, who spent most of the story pining after a boy, and the novel as a whole, which I thought seemed too normal after reading Eugenides’s Middlesex. It wasn’t a bad read, though; it kept me interested.

9. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt. This was a fantastic true-crime book that read like fiction. The characters were incredibly unique and engaging, the crime itself was very suspenseful, and the town of Savannah was a character in itself.

8. Loud in the House of Myself by Stacy Pershall. I reviewed this here!

7. Are You My Mother? by Alison Bechdel. I also reviewed this.

6. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. As an avowed introvert myself, I found this book very fascinating, empowering, and validating.

5. Bleak House by Charles Dickens. A true Dickensian masterpiece. Check out my review here.

4.. Bossypants by Tina Fey. This memoir is really quite hilarious. Even better than reading it is listening to the audio book, which is read by Tina Fey herself. After listening to her book, I love her and her dry sense of humor even more.

3. The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth. Full review here!

2. Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick. I plan to write a review on this tomorrow – it’s the harrowing stories of several North Koreans who survived the famine of the late ’80s under Kim Jong-il and eventually defected, at great risk, to South Korea.

1. Bastard Out of Carolina by Dorothy Allison. My new favorite book, and one of my top ten protagonists. I’ve written a review here.

4 thoughts on “The Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

Leave a Reply

